Alaska 4x4 Network

Go Back   Alaska 4x4 Network > Alaska 4x4 Network Forums > Alaskan Interest > Prepared for Alaska!?

Prepared for Alaska!? Are you prepared? How have you hedged your bets for survival in Alaska? All threads related to being ready for the worst Alaska has to dish out belong in this forum.

Old 06-18-2010, 07:46 AM   #1
Strat
Registered Member

Strat is on a distinguished road
Default Food storage hints

I wanted to start a thread with some little bits of info you might want to consider when you start shopping. I'm NOT an expert in this subject but I have some experience that might be useful.

The bulk of my storage consists of bulk staples and comes from local stores like Costco and Three bears. I don't have MRE's or freeze dried stuff. I went moose hunting with Mountain House freeze dried meals and had NO energy for humping hills or carrying meat. For me MT house is only good for sitting around a campfire on a stress free camping trip. I like to be as organic as possible with my storage because when you need to implement your emergency plan your body will be under stress. Stress is an obstacle in maintaining health and strength. I think most of us here are fathers or adult sons, your family will be depending on YOU for heavy duty tasks, this will stress your body and mind so you need to be in good shape. It will be your job to provide for your family no matter what the conditions are or how well you prepared (or did not prepare).

This thread will focus on food. Feel free to share your knowledge with us, I can use the help also.
Strat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 08:28 AM   #2
Strat
Registered Member

Strat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Food storage hints

http://www.vitasprings.com/spice-wor...ic-garlic.html