Alaska 4x4 Network

Go Back   Alaska 4x4 Network > Alaska 4x4 Network Forums > 4x4 Vehicle (car, truck, etc) > Build-up Threads

Build-up Threads Long term build up threads only please. This forum will be very heavily moderated. If you have a question about content, pm Logjam before posting it.

Old 05-12-2005, 05:49 PM   #1
bigun
Registered Member

bigun is on a distinguished road
Default new pics 6/7/05-- Extreme Make over FSJeep style wefinally named it

Hello from NM. I have been working on an extreme make over of my 76 jeep Cherokee. We are putting a 75 J20 cab on the Cherokee frame. Now I know you are all sitting out there saying "Bigun Why in the world are you doing that?" I am glad you asked! I traded my 78 4X4 ford van body schoolbus that I used for a shop truck(I am an electrical contractor) to a general contractor for his 76 cherokee. The old fords motor was down to 7 cylinders and the other guy expresed an interest in it if I ever got rid of it he wanted it to turn it into a hunting wagon. Well he had this old Jeep so we traded titles. I knew hat the jeep had a bad rear end, former owner used it to tow his 6000Lb construction trailer. He was one of these guys that when his left foot came off the floor his right foot found it. With 4.10 gears a T18 tranny and 32X12.50X15 B.F. Goodrich Mudders something has to give and in this case it was the ring gear. So the first thing we tried to do was install a ford 9 inch No Worky Jeep offsets their rear diff to get by the fuel tank. We then came up with the J20 the owners had lost the title so we picked it up for $300. While we were putting the J 20 axles under the cherokee we relised that the floor boards in the thing were nothing but rust. After much discussion we decided that even though the J 20 was just as rusty there was less of it to repair so we decded to put the pick up cab on the cherokee frame. ( before any of you have further questians of my sanity the we is my partner in insanity Craig AKA Black Bart a